Insurance and alarm system for '74 stingray

Item Posts    Sort Order

Insurance and alarm system for '74 stingray

goosecha goosecha
I watched Corvette Summer | Posts: 3 | Joined: 12/13
Posted: 12/27/13
08:15 PM

Hello,

I just purchased a '74 Stingray  Cool  and need to get it insured, however, my intention is to drive it everywhere. I am young (24) and saved a bit of money to buy it. Now I want to use it.

I have looked everywhere online and they all have so many restrictions. I may have to buy the plan just to be able to legally drive in my state but will have no confidence if something actually happened (by the way, how do they prove a lot of this stuff?).  Confused  

So that leads me to my next inquiry,

If I am going to have a hard time finding a plan that works for me because of my age and daily driver status, what is the best, top of the line, alarm system that I can install in my almost completely original Stingray?

Thank you again for your help.

As a newbie, I needed this!

Gus C.  

wayne712222 wayne712222
I watched Corvette Summer | Posts: 22 | Joined: 11/13
Posted: 12/30/13
08:46 AM

you can get Liability insurance that will cover you to register and drive your C3 from any insurance company...
you will want significantly more than state minimums liability..

if you want full coverage.. that is where you are going to run into issues..

as daily drivers are exposed to much higher rates of loss..

if the restrictions are too high.. calculate out what a restricted policy would cost..

take that amount of payments and stuff them in an interest bearing bank account..

if your car gets damaged.. you will have funds to cover it.  if other peoples cars or property are damaged. the liability will cover it..

i am NOT hip to all the insurance coverage needs.. i personally just call and pay for it.. that might bite me some day.. i guess i will have to study up on it..